top of page

“GOLD” Jefferson Starship RSD’19 Exclusive via Rhino Records

“GOLD” RSD’19 Exclusive via Rhino Records

Released: April,13 2019

For Fans Of: Led Zeppelin, Fleetwood Mac, Crosby Stills & Nash, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin

Genre: Classic Rock, Progressive Rock, Psychedelic Rock, 70’s


Jefferson Starship is an American rock band from San Francisco, California that evolved out of the group Jefferson Airplane following the departure of bassist Jack Casady and guitarist Jorma Kaukonen. Not many bands can survive multiple decades and the evolution of their sound, but Jefferson Starship is a perfectly executed success story. The band went through several major changes in personnel and genres through the years while retaining the same Jefferson Starship name.

For Record Store Day 2019, Rhino Records is releasing Starships iconic 1978 greatest hits album “GOLD” reissued on vinyl for the first time since it’s initial release. This limited edition gold vinyl pressing is limited to 5500 units worldwide and comes with a rare bonus gold 7” single featuring “Light The Sky On Fire” backed with “Hyperdrive”, honoring the original release.

This is by far our favorite pressing that Rhino Records has in store for this Record Store Day, not to mention that Rhino has 33 NEW RELEASES (see the full list here) all coming out this RSD. The vinyl is in a gold foil embossed reflective cover which is a replica of the original gold cover of the 1978 release, check out our photo gallery to explore the full album art!

Support Indie Record Stores, Support Vinyl, Support Starship.

If you need any info in terms of participating record stores near you, just visit and search your ZIP code!

In 1972 when Jefferson Airplane lineup took a break after releasing the band's seventh studio album, Long John Silver. Casady and Kaukonen focused on their side project Hot Tuna. Playing with a revolving cast of musicians, they recorded five albums over five years, including the group's 1972 studio debut, Burgers. In 1973, Slick recorded Manhole, the first of her four solo albums. That same year, she and Kantner formed Jefferson Starship with fellow Airplane alumni Freiberg, Papa John Creach, and John Barbata, as well as guitarist Craig Chaquico. Jefferson Airplane founding member Marty Balin also joined the band in 1975. Jefferson Starship released eight albums between 1974 and 1984. Each of them was certified gold or better and helped the band assemble a steady streak of classic hit singles such as "Count On Me,' "Jane," "Find Your Way Back, and "Miracles" from their 1975 double platinum #1 album Red Octopus. In 1985, the band shortened its name to Starship before Slick, Chaquico, Mickey Thomas, Pete Sears, and Donny Baldwin set off in a new musical direction. Over the next five years, Starship would record three albums, including the band's 1985 debut, Knee Deep In The Hoopla. A massive hit, the album was certified platinum and features two iconic #1 singles "We Built This City" and "Sara." Starship's music continues to be embraced in the streaming age, with both "We Built This City" and "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" surpassing the 100 million stream mark on Spotify, a rare feat for 30-year-old songs.


bottom of page